Salesperson: Frequently Asked Questions

1Where can I find a schedule of upcoming courses?
If you are a prospective new student, you may see a schedule of our upcoming courses by going to the Salesperson Courses page.
2How do I register for a course?
You may register for our classes online here. You may also register over the phone (781-893-2832) or in person at our Waltham Office (771 Main Street).
3What is the difference between a salesperson and a broker
One must become a licensed salesperson and work for a licensed broker for three years before they may take the necessary broker course and exam. A salesperson must always work under a licensed broker whereas a licensed broker may work for themselves and hire additional salespersons to work for them.
4Can I take the salesperson course online?
Due to frequent inquiry about doing the salesperson or broker pre-licensing course online, we want to confirm that Massachusetts currently requires those courses to be done entirely onsite within a supervised classroom of either live lecture or monitored video. NO licensed real estate school in Massachusetts is authorized to conduct any form of pre-licensing course for credit which can be done at a student’s home, office or any other location that is not occupied and supervised in person by a licensed real estate instructor at all times. If you have any questions about this regulation, we will be happy to answer them and further information can be obtained by calling the Real Estate Licensing Board at 1-617-727-2373.
5What should I bring with me to class?
We recommend that you bring a notebook, pen, and a highlighter. Course materials will be given to you at class. There is no dress code, casual dress is fine. Also, during the warmer months one may want to bring a light sweater or jacket when we have the air conditioner on.
6What do I do if I miss a class, or I’m unable to make classes on specific days?
American Real Estate Academy is extremely flexible with our salesperson course offerings. As long as you take each of the (8) necessary subjects within 3 months from your start date, you will receive your certificate of completion. If you have questions regarding specific scheduling concerns, feel free to call us (781-893-2832) or, we recommend that you view our upcoming salesperson courses, and register for the day you wish to start.
7What happens after I finish the Salesperson course?
Once you have completed your course you will receive a certificate that allows you to take the state exam. The fee for the exam is $101 and it is paid to the testing service when you call to make an appointment for the exam over the phone. The Division of Professional Licensure does not allow real estate schools to give out this number before a student finishes their course.
8When do I take the Salesperson Exam?
Salesperson students have up to 2 years to pass the state exam from your date of completion. After 2 years, you must re-enroll and take the course over again.
9Was there recently a change in the testing service?
Yes, Effective April 1, 2016, PSI Services LLC shall be the new test vendor for the Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Sales persons (Board). As of March 15, 2016, Real Estate Applicants will be able to schedule examinations with PSI Services LLC for examinations scheduled for on or after April 1, 2016. Additional information including the Candidate Information Bulletin and test site locations can be found online on or about March 15, 2016. The last testing date with the Board’s current vendor, Pearson VUE, shall be on March 31, 2016. Please visit the Real Estate Board’s website for future updates.

Click here for common exam questions
10How is the salesperson exam given?
The Exam is computer based. Exams are offered at either 8am or 1pm. Each student is given 4 hours to complete the exam. On average, it takes most people between 2 and 2 ½ hours to finish. Some students are quicker and some take longer, but you are given plenty of time to complete your exam. The exam is divided into 2 parts. The 1st section is the General portion and it consists of 80 questions. The 2nd section is the Massachusetts State Law portion and it consists of 40 questions. You must score 70% in each section in order to pass the exam. If you pass one portion, but not the other, you only need to retake the section you failed. The retake fee is $56.
11What happens when I pass the salesperson exam?
Once you complete your exam the administrator will grade it. Upon passing the exam you will need to pay for your license. The license fee is prorated according to your birthday and will range from $103 to $150. Your first license will be active until your next birthday plus 2 years. You will be issued your license right on the spot!
12What should I do if my salesperson license has expired?
If you’ve previously held a salesperson license, you do not necessarily have to retake the pre-license course or exam again. You should call the Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure at 617-727-2373 to see what steps you’ll need to take to reinstate your license. In most cases, they will instruct you to take 12 hours of continuing education and pay the required reinstatement fee (fees range depending on the amount of time that has passed and is determined by the Division of Professional Licensure).
13May I video or audio record classes?
Unfortunately, students are not allowed to record classes with audio or video recording devices, including smartphones and tablets. We will be offering the convenience of course review videos to help review course topics.

Broker: Frequently Asked Questions

1Where can I find a schedule of upcoming courses?
If you are a prospective new student, you may see a schedule of our upcoming courses by going to the Broker Courses page.
2How do I register for a course?
You may register for our classes online here. You may also register over the phone (781-893-2832) or in person at our Waltham Office (771 Main Street).
3What is the difference between a salesperson and a broker?
One must become a licensed salesperson and work for a licensed broker for three years before they may take the necessary broker course and exam. A salesperson must always work under a licensed broker whereas a licensed broker may work for themselves and hire additional salespersons to work for them.
4Can I take the broker class online?
Due to frequent inquiry about doing the salesperson or broker pre-licensing course online, we want to confirm that Massachusetts currently requires those courses to be done entirely onsite within a supervised classroom of either live lecture or monitored video. NO licensed real estate school in Massachusetts is authorized to conduct any form of pre-licensing course for credit which can be done at a student’s home, office or any other location that is not occupied and supervised in person by a licensed real estate instructor at all times. If you have any questions about this regulation, we will be happy to answer them and further information can be obtained by calling the Real Estate Licensing Board at 1-617-727-2373.
5What should I bring with me to class?
We recommend that you bring a notebook, pen, and a highlighter. Course materials will be given to you at class. There is no dress code, casual dress is fine. Also, during the warmer months one may want to bring a light sweater or jacket when we have the air conditioner on.
6When do I take the Brokers Exam?
Broker students have up to 2 years to pass the state exam from your date of completion. After 2 years, you must re-enroll and take the course over again.
7Was there recently a change in the testing service?
Yes, Effective April 1, 2016, PSI Services LLC shall be the new test vendor for the Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Sales persons (Board). As of March 15, 2016, Real Estate Applicants will be able to schedule examinations with PSI Services LLC for examinations scheduled for on or after April 1, 2016. Additional information including the Candidate Information Bulletin and test site locations can be found online on or about March 15, 2016. The last testing date with the Board’s current vendor, Pearson VUE, shall be on March 31, 2016. Please visit the Real Estate Board’s website for future updates.

Click here for common exam questions
8What should I do if my broker license has expired?
If you’ve previously held a brokerlicense, you do not necessarily have to retake the pre-license course or exam again. You should call the Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure at 617-727-2373 to see what steps you’ll need to take to reinstate your license. In most cases, they will instruct you to take 12 hours of continuing education and pay the required reinstatement fee (fees range depending on the amount of time that has passed and is determined by the Division of Professional Licensure).
9May I video or audio record classes?
Unfortunately, students are not allowed to record classes with audio or video recording devices, including smartphones and tablets. We will be offering the convenience of course review videos to help review course topics.

Online CE: Frequently Asked Questions

1How do I register for a course?
You can find out more about our online continuing education courses here or you may register for our classes online here.
2How often do I need to take continuing education courses?
Massachusetts requires salespersons and brokers to take 12 credits of real estate continuing educaiton every 2 years.
3Are the Continuing Education requirements different for salespersons and brokers?
The requirements and classes are the same for salespersons and brokers.
4Will taking the Broker license course fulfill my Salesperson Continuing Education requirements?
No, these requirements are separate. However, if your primary intent is to become a Broker and you complete the Broker course and pass the brokers exam prior to your salesperson license expiration date, you would not be required to complete Continuing Education credits for your salesperson license. Once you are issued your Brokers license, you will then receive a new expiration date for your Brokers Continuing Education requirements.
5I’ve completed my continuing education credits, do I need to do anything else?
Prior to your license renewal date, you should receive a renewal form from the Division of Professional Licensure. Check off the box indicating that you have completed your continuing education, and mail that form with your renewal fee back to the Division of Professional Licensure. If you did not receive your renewal form, you should contact them at 617-727-2373. Renewal forms are typically mailed out about three weeks prior to your license renewal date. You do not need to include a copy of your certificate of completion. The Division of Professional Licensure conducts regular audits of licensees. If you receive an audit letter, you will then be instructed to mail a copy of your certificate of completion.
6What do I do if I can’t login to my Online Continuing Education account?
In most cases, the wrong email address or password is being entered. 1. You can reset your password here. 2. An email will be sent to you with a temporary password. If you can’t remember the email address you used, please call us during business hours (M-F 9:00 am – 3:30pm) or e-mail support@area-school.com
7I’m clicking on the CE Course Introductions, but nothing is happening.
If you do not see the course intro after clicking on it, it is likely that you have a pop-up blocker. Most pop-up blockers will have a notification at the top of the screen allowing pop-ups from our website. Allow pop-ups and you will be able to view course introductions.

Live CE: Frequently Asked Questions

1Where can I find a schedule of upcoming courses?
If you are a prospective new student, you may see a schedule of our upcoming courses by going to the Live CE Courses page.
2How do I register for a course?
You may register for our classes online here. You may also register over the phone (781-893-2832) or in person at our Waltham Office (771 Main Street).
3What should I bring with me to class?
We recommend that you bring a notebook, pen, and a highlighter. Course materials will be given to you at class. There is no dress code, casual dress is fine. Also, during the warmer months one may want to bring a light sweater or jacket when we have the air conditioner on.
4How often do I need to take continuing education courses?
Massachusetts requires salespersons and brokers to take 12 credits of real estate continuing education every 2 years.
5Are the Continuing Education requirements different for salespersons and brokers?
The requirements and classes are the same for salespersons and brokers.
6Will taking the Broker license course fulfill my Salesperson Continuing Education requirements?
No, these requirements are separate. However, if your primary intent is to become a Broker and you complete the Broker course and pass the brokers exam prior to your salesperson license expiration date, you would not be required to complete Continuing Education credits for your salesperson license. Once you are issued your Brokers license, you will then receive a new expiration date for your Brokers Continuing Education requirements.
7I’ve completed my continuing education credits, do I need to do anything else?
Prior to your license renewal date, you should receive a renewal form from the Division of Professional Licensure. Check off the box indicating that you have completed your continuing education, and mail that form with your renewal fee back to the Division of Professional Licensure. If you did not receive your renewal form, you should contact them at 617-727-2373. Renewal forms are typically mailed out about three weeks prior to your license renewal date. You do not need to include a copy of your certificate of completion. The Division of Professional Licensure conducts regular audits of licensees. If you receive an audit letter, you will then be instructed to mail a copy of your certificate of completion.
8May I video or audio record classes?
Unfortunately, students are not allowed to record classes with audio or video recording devices, including smartphones and tablets. We will be offering the convenience of course review videos to help review course topics.