Massachusetts Salesperson License Requirements
A candidate must be eighteen years of age and complete a state-approved course to be eligible for a salesperson license. The course consists of 40 hours of instruction which must be completed before taking the state exam. Prior real estate knowledge is not required to participate in the course.
The salesperson course is for those that have never held a salesperson/broker license in Massachusetts.
If you have held a salesperson license in Massachusetts at anytime and have let it lapse you will want to contact the Division of Professional Licensure before registering for courses.
The course is a lecture course that will provide information on eight different subjects. The course is designed to assist you on understanding each subject so that you may successfully pass the state exam. Students are urged to bring a notebook, pen, and highlighter to the course to take notes during the lectures. A textbook will also be provided to each student.
This course is designed to assist students in passing the state exam but just as one would for any other exam a student should also study their notes and text on their own time before they take their exam to even further prepare themselves for testing. Once you receive your salesperson license it may be used for either residential or commercial property – for sales or rentals. You may hold the license for future use or go to work for a broker.
***Important Change in Pre-Licensure Requirements:
Massachusetts General Law (MGL) Chapter 112, Section 87SS.
As, of June 1, 2011, the Board shall require the following:
- Prior to the salesperson examination, a candidate for a salesperson license shall complete forty (40) hours of pre-licensure salesperson education.
- Prior to the broker examination, a salesperson shall complete forty (40) hours of pre-licensure broker
education AND must have affiliated with a broker for three (3) years for a broker license.
AREA Offers Flexible Scheduling!
Our Salesperson course is made up of 8 independent subjects that are 5 hours each. Students may take the subjects in any order they wish either during the weekdays or weekends. This flexibility is great for people that have difficult schedules or need to make up a class they missed. Students may mix and match the subjects any way that works for them. Simply sign up for the day you’d like to start and begin from there. You may click here to see the list of salesperson topics and the dates and times we offer them.
The State Exam
After a student completes the pre-license course, we will provide the education certificate necessary for the exam and the toll-free phone number to schedule an appointment. The student decides when and where to take the state exam. Exam appointments should be made once a student finishes the course, the toll free number will not be given out before that time. Students have 2 years from the date you finish the course to take and pass the state exam.
The state exam consists of multiple-choice questions. A score of at least 70% is required to pass. The exam fee is $101.00, payable to the testing service on exam day.
The exam is given in Boston & Woburn every week Tuesday through Saturday, it is also given in North Dartmouth, Worcester and West Springfield (schedules vary for each location). Exam results and licenses are issued on the spot!
All courses include the course textbook. We accept cash, MasterCard, Visa, American Express and Discover. We offer the convenience of online registration, you may pre-register by calling us at (781) 893-2832.
The American Real Estate Academy gets proven results on the state exam month after month. Our own textbook is designed for adults who have no background in real estate. The up-to-date material gets right to the point by staying focused on the important issues. Many courses use thick, multi-purpose real estate reference books that force students to read lengthy paragraphs filled with legal terms. Our book saves you time without compromising any quality in your education.
***Students may review the course at no charge for two years from the date of initial course completion. After the two years is expired the student will have to pay for a new course. We do offer a discount for students in this situation.